Monday, April 03, 2006

PV's Players that Time Forgot: Bob McAdoo and Jamaal Wilkes

(Periodically I will briefly educate the rubes on the great basketball and football players of yore that I feel are too quickly forgotten today).

Bob McAdoo
McAdoo was the only NBA MVP not elected to the NBA 50 Greatest Players list in 1996. He won three straight scoring titles in 1974, 1975, and 1976, averaging over 30 ppg each season. His MVP came in '75, when he averaged 34.5 ppg and led the league in total rebounds with 1155. In short, he was a dominant player in the mid-1970s. In the latter part of his career, he was a very positive contributor for two championship teams with the L.A. Lakers, '82 and '85.

Jamaal Wilkes
After winning two championships at UCLA, Wilkes made an immediate impact in the NBA. He averaged 14.2 ppg and 8.2 rpg for the 1975 NBA Champion Golden State Warriors, winning Rookie of the Year. He moved on to the Lakers, and was a 20 ppg scorer (in regular season and playoffs) for two Laker championship teams, '80 and '82. A proven winner, Wilkes ended up a key player for 2 NCAA champions and 3 NBA champions.

No comments:

Post a Comment